Ignition Interlock rules in Kansas

Posted by Matt McLane | May 17, 2013 | 0 Comments

A new Kansas law allows suspended drivers to install ignition interlock devices (IID) in their vehicles in order to drive on a restricted basis during the initial suspension period.  A minimum 45 days (90 days if driver refuses)  must be served on suspension before the DMV will issue a Permit.  The Permit allows the driver to legally drive so long as it is within the restrictions outlined in the Permit.  However, I have noticed an increase in younger suspended drivers who continue to drive without the required IID.  The penalty for a first offense is that the ‘restricted period' starts over, plus a fine to the court.  You simply can not circumvent the process and believe to be in the clear after a year (or more, depending on length of suspension) has run. The DMV will require proof of the installation of the device on file for a full year or more before lifting the suspension.  The average monthly cost is $65 to maintain the device and installation fees vary.

About the Author

Matt McLane

Matt McLane was born in Topeka, Kansas, and moved to Pittsburg, Kansas in 1980 where he attended middle school, high school and college. Upon graduation from PSU in 1992, Matt moved back to Topeka where he attended Washburn University law school. Upon graduation, he moved to Overland Park and worked in a small firm handling DUI and traffic cases. He opened the McLane Law Firm in April 2011 and has built his firm on a strong referral base and solid reputation.


There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

McLane Law Firm

Matt McLane has been defending individuals charged with DUI, traffic and criminal offenses since his graduation from Washburn University Law School in 1996. Licensed in the states of Kansas and Missouri. Mr. McLane specializes in DUI and criminal defense throughout the Kansas City metropolitan area.

Contact Us Today!

Mr. McLane´s clients benefit from his experience and reputation of being a respected, professional attorney with a strong work ethic who is committed to successfully resolving every client´s legal challenges in a Timely and Professional manner.

McLane Law Firm, LLC
(913) 322-4715 (fax)
Mon: 08:30am - 05:30pm
Tue: 08:30am - 05:30pm
Wed: 08:30am - 05:30pm
Thu: 08:30am - 05:30pm
Fri: 08:30am - 05:30pm